December 18, 2014

How to Request Police Records

Requests are processed only during the stated business hours. Unless otherwise specified below, you may request records from the department in person, mail, phone, fax, or via e-mail.

You May Request a Copy of a Police Report

When

Where

Monday through Friday
8:00 am – 4:00 pm

West Fargo Police Department
800 4th Avenue East, Suite 2
West Fargo, ND 58078
Phone: (701) 433-5500
Fax: (701) 433-5508

Criminal Reports

Criminal reports are considered Open Record, after the case received a disposition and through court, been declined for prosecution or closed.

Paper Copies: $0.25 per page
Email: No Charge
Photographs: You must specify if you want copies of photographs included with a report. The department will provide only photocopies of photographs unless actual reprints are specified.
Postage: Actual cost of mailing.
Redaction Fee: State law requires some information (such as a Social Security Number) to be redacted before the record is provided. The first hour of time required to redact information is free; thereafter, the charge is $25 per hour.

Estimated charges must be paid before the department will provide records.
Records Division Request for Report form

Crash Reports

Crash reports are $7.00 for the complete crash report

However, upon affirmation by a party to the crash, a party’s legal representative, or the insurer of any party to the crash that the investigating officer’s opinion is material to a determination of liability and upon payment of a fee of five dollars, the director or investigating agency shall release a completed copy of the investigation officer’s opinion to the entity requesting the information.  The request must be made on an appropriate form approved by the director.

The West Fargo Police Department requires that a person or business that requests a copy of a Crash Worksheet may request from the department in person, mail, phone, fax or via e-mail; upon request of any person and upon payment of a fee of two dollars, the director or the law enforcement agency may furnish to a requester a copy of that portion of an investigating officer’s crash report which does not disclose the opinion of the reporting officer, if the report shows that the crash is one for which a driver is required to file a report under section 39-08-09.

Waiting period usually is 5 to 7 days. We cannot release a crash report until a West Fargo Police Department Sergeant has signed the accident report.
Records Division Request for Report form

Individual Record Check from the West Fargo Police Department

The West Fargo Police Department requires that a person or business that requests a copy of an Individual Record Check fill out a Request for Individual Record Check form.  The Individual Record Check may be requested from the department in person, mail, fax and via e-mail.  The cost of this Individual Record Check is $10.00 per person.

Waiting period is usually 3 to 5 days, depending on each individual record.
Request for Individual Record Check form

Criminal History Record

For a complete report of a Criminal History Record, please contact the Bureau of Criminal Investigation in Bismarck, http://www.ag.nd.gov/BCI/CHR/index.html.

Law Enforcement Records of a Child

North Dakota State Century Code prohibits certain records be released to the public including parents if the cases involve Social Service's reports and/or Juvenile reports.

Further Information - State of North Dakota

Click on the Attorney Generals website link for further explanation to the following Law Enforcement Open Records. http://www.ag.nd.gov/OpenRecords/ORM.htm

If you have further question, please contact the West Fargo Police Department at 701-433-5500 and ask for Office Manager