February 27, 2017


To contact a City Commissioner via email or phone or find out about City Commission meeting times and dates, all the information can be located directly on our website.


Contact a City Commissioner
800 4 Ave East, Suite 1
West Fargo, ND 58078

Rich Mattern:      (701) 793-0472
Mark Wentz:       (701) 371-2425
Duane Hanson:  (701) 367-4249
Mark Simmons:  (701) 306-3815
Mike Thorstad:   (701) 388-4907

Are you vaguely human? prove it...
Enter the code shown above in the box below.

Participating in the City Commission Meeting

If you would like to participate in the Commission Meeting, fill out the City Commission Agenda Item Request form to submit your request and be heard before the Commission.

Agenda items for an upcoming Commission Meeting must be submitted by noon on the Thursday before the Monday of the meeting. If you have any additional questions about the form process, please contact the Commission Administrative Assistant at (701) 433-5313.

West Fargo City Commission

The City of West Fargo operates under the Commission form of Municipal Government, four Commissioners and a Mayor are elected at large. The Mayor serves as President of the Board of City Commissioners. The Board meets every first and third Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Commission Chambers located at 800 4th Avenue East in West Fargo.

An agenda for each meeting is available at City Hall each Friday preceding the meeting, and can also be found on our website at: http://westfargond.gov/Home/Government/City-Commission/Agenda

The next City Commission Meeting will be held Monday, March 6, 2017, at 5:30 pm in the Commission Chambers.

Agenda items are due by noon on Thursday, March 2, 2017.

If you would like to participate in the Commission Meeting, complete the City Commission Agenda Item Request form to submit your request and be heard before the Commission.

Commission Meeting Minutes are also available on our website at: http://westfargond.gov/Home/Government/City-Commission/Minutes

City Commission

West Fargo City Commission group photo 


The President (Mayor) votes as a member of the board and does not have veto power.

There are five portfolios designated to each member of the City Commission.  Those portfolios include:

1.)    Finance and Government
2.)    Police and Fire
3.)    Streets and Improvements
4.)    Sanitation and Building Inspection
5.)    Waterworks and Sewerage 

Every two years, after each election, a reorganization meeting is scheduled to distribute the portfolios to each Commissioner.  Typically, the President holds the Finance and Government portfolio and the remaining portfolios are assigned by the President to the four Commissioners. Each Commissioner is also assigned a secondary portfolio.  The Vice-Chair of the Board is also appointed at this time, as well as the following officers: 

City Administrator
Finance Director
Business Development Director
Planning Director
Chief of Police
Public Works Director
City Engineer
Assistant City Engineer
City Attorney
Assistant City Attorney
Assistant City Health Officer
Building Inspector


City Commission Members


Mayor Rich Mattern

Mayor Rich Mattern, President
Term Expires June 2018
Portfolio:  Finance and City Hall

Commissioner Wentz

Mark Wentz, Commissioner and Vice-Chair
Term Expires June 2018
Portfolio:  Sanitation

Commissioner Brian Schulz

Duane Hanson, Commissioner
Term Expires June 2018
Portfolio:  Sewer and Water

Commissioner Mark Simmons

Mark Simmons, Commissioner
Term Expires June 2020
Portfolio:  Streets

Mike Thorstad

Mike Thorstad, Commissioner
Term Expires June 2020
Portfolio:  Police and Fire