About Us

Org Chart.2

The West Fargo Fire Department is a combination department with an authorized strength of 67 employees; 22 full time employees and 45 part time or paid on call employees.  The department is an all hazards department, meaning the department responds to all hazards, such as fires, medical emergencies, rescues, hazardous materials incidents, acts of terrorism and natural disasters.  

Within the department, there are five divisions; Administration, Risk Reduction, Operations, Professional Standards, and Emergency Management.  With the exception of the Administration Division, each is managed by a Deputy Chief or non-sworn civilian manager.


Sets policy and guidelines, manages the annual budget, applies for and manages grants,  and provides resources for the other divisions to accomplish their missions. 

Risk Reduction

Ensures fire safety systems in commercial and public buildings are built to code through plans review of new or remodeled buildings.  To make certain all fire safety systems are maintained and operating properly, bi-annual fire code compliance inspections are also completed.  Another goal of the division is to reduce emergencies and increase the community resiliency incase of natural disaster.  The division accomplishes these goals through intensive community involvement and non-traditional outreach, such as in home life safety assessments.  


Responds to all emergencies throughout the city, including fires, rescues, medical emergencies, rescues, hazardous materials incidents, acts of terrorism and natural disasters.  The division staffs 15 firefighters a day for response to calls for service.  This is accomplished through a combination of firefighters in the stations, and other firefighters who are on call. 

Professional Standards

Sets and maintains all Professional Standards for the department, which ranges through all the other divisions such as credentialing of our Emergency Medical Services personnel through the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians, and our firefighters through the North Dakota Firefighters Association and Pro-Board.  Training also falls under the Professional Standards Division. 

Emergency Management

Coordinates across the whole community in the five mission areas as defined by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

  • Prevention
  • Protection
  • Mitigation
  • Response
  • Recovery.